A Smooth Argentinian Red.

Posted: September 10, 2010 in Drinks

Recently I have been thinking that I need to expand my horizons of the wine drinking front. I normally drink French wine, sometimes Italian and rarely a Californian or Spanish.  To date I have found that any wine NOT from France or Italy gives me a massive headache.  Not just any headache, but one that really hurts your eyes and keeps you horizontal until at least midday the following day.

However, so far this year I have tried several wines from other countries and have awoken the next day unscathed, so in the interests of keeping this blog as varied as possible, I am going to be truly selfless and risk life and limb by drinking non-French or Italian wine at (almost) every opportunity. And by the way, I still think I deserve a round of applause for drinking that Turkish stuff! (See blog post: 3 Wines & Eastern Promise).

The other night I went to a friend’s house as she needed to send about 140 photos to her husband who works abroad and didn’t really know how to do it. Now two of the great things about Helen are, she loves a drink and all their wine is delivered by the case from Laithwaites and I have never had one I didn’t like round there and this was no exception.

Helen opened a bottle of ‘FIFTY BLOCK’ Malbec, an Argentinian red from the Famatina Valley, according to the label and it was bloody lovely.  A very rich taste, but also very, very smooth and the taste lasted in the mouth for just that little bit longer than expected. Lush is a word a might use to describe it. I just looked on the Laithwaites site and their wine expert says its rich and smooth (so we agree on that) with bramble, violet and liquorice character.

Of course as it’s from Laithwaites, you can’t buy it by the bottle from them but in a case of 6 it works out to £6.49 a bottle and once again I agree with their wine critic, it’s a steal!

Here’s the poor bugger after we’d finished with him!

Comments
  1. DJ Kirkby says:

    Oh this sounds just gorgeous! Never heard of Laithwaites and not sure we can afford to buy wine by the case but will, of course, now have to go look at their site. I really like your blog and am going to link to it from the sidebar of mine so I can find it easily.

Leave a Reply

