A Lovely Dressing.

Posted: September 6, 2010 in Food

We had some friends over for dinner on Saturday night and as a starter I wanted to cook an Asparagus dish. Normally I have Asparagus as part on my main course, shallow fried in a little olive oil, black pepper and garlic, just cooked long enough so the spears start to go soft, but not too long so they go limp!

I decided to look on the BBC website and found a recipe that sounded simple and interesting.  But once I read the instructions, I didn’t quite get it and asked my wife to read them too and, like me, she found them a little confusing. One of the ingredients for the dressing was Oranges but the instructions didn’t really tell you what to do with them, for that actual dressing mix.

So I decided that I would buy the ingredients and make it my own way.  It turned out very nice, especially for a 1st attempt but it did take some modifying as I made way too much of it and used far too much Ginger, so here is how the finished version ended up being made.

1 Tablespoon of Balsamic Vinegar.

3 Tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

1 Red Chilli, finely chopped.

Small piece of Ginger, finely chopped.

Juice of 1 Orange.

I put the oil, vinegar and juice in a bowl, chopped the chilli and ginger, put them in a pestle & mortar and ground them together, added them to the bowl and let is brew for about an hour before we ate and it tasted lovely, but just make it to your taste.

Also, the only downside was that it didn’t really coat the asparagus very well as they were already coated in oil from the shallow frying, but it was still nice. So maybe next time I might cook the asparagus in hot water or make the dressing for a salad or something different, or just dip in some crusty bread!

If you give it a go, would you be kind enough to let me know how you got on and what you had it with?

Leave a Reply

