A Killer Pasta Sauce

Posted: August 19, 2010 in Rants & Ramblings

When I was in Spain for a month at the beginning of the year I tried making a pasta sauce using Passata for the first time.  For those that don’t know, Passata is pureed tomatoes that have been sieved, so it is a smooth liquid with no pips etc. The sauce I made in Spain had all sorts in it and was rather nice, according to my friend and his wife who I cooked it for.

When I was back I thought I would try it again as previously I had always used a mixture of tinned tomatoes and fresh.

This time I wanted to make it a simple sauce but with bags of taste and to my surprise, I wasnt disappointed and have made it many times since and here is how:

Put some olive oil in a large frying pan and before the oil gets too hot add some chopped white onion, as much freshly chopped garlic as you like and a good helping of dried chilli flakes. (Schwartz do them).  Cook this off slowly until the onions are soft and almost transparent.  DON’T let it get too hot or the onions will fry and the garlic will burn.

Add the Passata and cook for as long as possible, allowing it to reduce and thicken.

Cook your pasta and when it is almost done, add some fresh Basil leaves to the sauce, they will cook very slightly in the heat of the sauce. Drain the pasta and mix it with the sauce and your done.

All you need now is some fresh crusty bread and a lovely bottle of Vino Rosso!

If that is too plain for you, get a block of Halloumi cheese, cut it into squares and as the pasta is cooking, cover your grill pan in tin foil, grill the cubes of Halloumi until at least 2 sides are golden brown and again, put into the sauce at the last minute with the Basil.

Leave a Reply

