Great Food, Good Value, but…

Posted: August 17, 2010 in Artists, Rants & Ramblings

On Saturday evening my wife and I spent the night with some friends on their yacht in Emsworth (Hampshire) so we could make an early start on Sunday morning and get out on the tide in Chichester Harbour at 5am (madness).

After loading the boat and having a couple of swift G&T’s we walked up the road to a pub by one of the Mill Ponds on the old A27 called the Sussex Brewery.

I cannot tell you how many times I have driven past this pub and wondered what it was like inside because from the outside it doesn’t look great but I had once, somewhere, heard good things about it.

Walking into the pub I immediately noticed it looked a lot older on the inside than it did on the outside.  The ceilings were very low, it had a flagstone floor in parts as well as wooden flooring, all covered with a generous sprinkling of sawdust on the floor and it also had exposed timber beams. It really was very nice.

There were a few locals at the bar and we were immediately served by friendly staff and then got some menus.

It seemed their speciality is sausages, mash & gravy and you really were spoilt for choice, not only on the meat variety of sausages, but there must have been about 8 different types of vegetarian sausages.

The food came quickly, it was hot, tasted great and not a scrap was left on our plates.

The only let down for me was that the woman who served us knew absolutely bugger all about their wine selection so I had to look through the bottles behind the bar to find something I liked, but that aside, I would definitely recommend a visit if you are ever passing through Emsworth in Hampshire.

Comments
  1. Nick Dann says:

    I love that pub one of my favourites,not reknowned for wine but it has a great selection of real ales and also it’s own brewery.
    Usually some quite colourful people in there as well.

Leave a Reply

