Fast Women and Cheap Rioja

Posted: August 10, 2010 in Drinks
Tags: , , , ,

OK, the ‘Fast Women’ part of that headline was just to grab your attention.  A cheap shot I know but hey, that’s the publisher in me.

So what about the cheap Rioja? Well, some time ago my sister-in-law bought me a bottle of wine to say thank you for having her two boys, my nephews, over for the night, giving her and her husband a rare night at home alone.

Normally I avoid Rioja like the plague as in the past it had always given me a raging headache, but after spending a month in Spain at the beginning of this year I realised that not all Rioja’s are the same.

So I ‘tentatively’ drank the whole bottle, if that’s possible and to my amazement did not wake up feeling as if a huge spikey thing was being repeatedly stabbed into my brain.

I asked my sister-in-law where she got it and she said Asda. Next time I was in there I found it and it was £4.06p a bottle, so I bought one and once again no headache.

Not only is it cheap, but it doesn’t taste too bad either. You certainly can’t complain at that price.

Comments
  1. Oli Collins says:

    Lidl do a 2005 Rioja for £4. Worth a go, it’s good stuff.

Leave a Reply

