Ramblings, Mainly About Old People.

Posted: August 6, 2010 in Rants & Ramblings

Decided to get out of the house yesterday.  I was suffering from an acute bout of Cabin fever caused by working from home.  after 2 yrs, it’s really starting to grate some days.

unfortunately it seems that everyone over the age of 85 had the same idea as me!

Amongst other places, I went to the harbour in Emsworth to sit outside the Cafe (bizarrely named ‘Flintstones’, it’s made of flint but I always think of the cartoon) and relax with a coffee and enjoy the view of the harbour.

As mentioned, the average age of those out and about seemed to be somewhere in the mid-eighties and more bizarre than the name of the cafe was the undeniable fact that some wag must have told the male perambulators of the day that it is incredibly fashionable to wear bright red trousers!  there were all these old blokes walking around looking like they had been dipped in scolding hot water!

The next thing I noticed was as they approached the entrance to the cafe, they all stopped in their tracks as if they had walked into a sheet of glass.  Why do old people do that, just stop in a doorway?  They do it at my local Waitrose.  Not only walking in, but walking out.  So at some busy times during the day, there is a seething mass of elderly folks, all slightly bewildered under a female haze of Lavender scent and a retina-melting glow of red trousers blocking all available exits.

Then it was off to Havant to get some food shopping. I also went to MacDonalds, which is my ‘Dirty Little Secret’.  I don’t eat it often but about 4 or 5 times a year I get an urge for MacDonalds and it wont go away until it is satisfied.

Whilst in there I noticed a very old lady who is employed to clean the tables etc.  She moved around the place like a woman possessed! She just did not stop! At one point she walked past me and caught my eye and said ‘All go today’ I replied, ‘Yes, I’ve been watching you, you havent stopped have you?’ She stopped and said ‘It’s my Birthday in October, I shall be eighty, I haven’t got time to hang about!’ Priceless, and a great example of why people shouldnt be forced to retire ant any age, let alone 65.

Leave a Reply

